Skip to main content
Projections: A Novel

Projections: A Novel

Current price: $29.99
Publication Date: February 13th, 2024
Publisher:
Tor Books
ISBN:
9780765396778
Pages:
464
Prince Books
1 on hand, as of Apr 23 9:13am
(FICTION HARDCOVER)
On Our Shelves Now

Description

S. E. Porter, critically-acclaimed YA author of Vassa in the Night, bursts onto the adult fantasy scene with her adult novel that is sure to appeal to fans of Jeff VanderMeer and China Mieville.

Love may last a lifetime, but in this dark historical fantasy, the bitterness of rejection endures for centuries.

As a young woman seeks vengeance on the obsessed sorcerer who murdered her because he could not have her, her murderer sends projections of himself out into the world to seek out and seduce women who will return the love she denied—or suffer mortal consequence. A lush, gothic journey across worlds full of strange characters and even stranger magic.

Sarah Porter’s adult debut explores misogyny and the soul-corrupting power of unrequited love through an enchanted lens of violence and revenge.

Also by Sarah Porter:
Vassa in the Night
When I Cast Your Shadow
Never-Contented Things

About the Author

S. E. Porter is a writer and artist. As Sarah Porter, she has published several books for young readers, including Vassa in the Night. Projections is her adult debut. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and daughter.

Praise for Projections: A Novel

Praise for Projections:

"One of THE most singular fantasy novels I’ve ever read, a realm-and time-spanning speculative feminist novel that is, at its core, an indictment of male entitlement masquerading as weaponized unrequited "love.""—Melissa Albert, author of Our Crooked Hearts

“An utterly original, fiercely feminist Alice in Wonderland gothic tale.”—Olesya Gilmore, author of The Witch and the Tsar

“S. E. Porter is a genius, and Projections is a dark garden of kaleidoscopic delights.”—Jon Evans, author of Exadelic

"A luscious, dual-voiced story of vengeance. . . .The exquisite language, well-honed characters, and various historical settings will draw in fans of unusual ghost stories."—Booklist, starred review

“S.E. Porter’s first book for adults might as well have been called Men Ain’t Shit: A Novel. Projections is a dark fantasy exploration of misogyny and vengeance and womanhood, and is absolutely one for all the angry girls out there.”—Reactor

“Readers will cheer for Catherine to exact her revenge and reclaim her agency in the afterlife. This darkly magical historical should win Porter some new fans.”—Publishers Weekly

"This story will haunt readers long after they close the book...Within an intricately built fantasy world, Porter takes a character that had all agency unwillingly taken away from her and gives her an incredible voice."—Library Journal

Praise for S. E. Porter:

“Bizarre, beautiful, and richly imagined.” ―Leigh Bardugo, New York Times bestselling author of Ninth House and the Grisha series

“Porter is a genius. Her language is lush and dangerous, and her books burn with the beautiful, ferocious intensity of a bonfire in the darkest night. Read Never-Contented Things with the lights on. Then read it again.”—Brittany Cavallaro, New York Times bestselling author of A Study in Charlotte

“A creepy new world like none I’ve seen before. Eerie, edgy, and filled with mystery, Porter takes us to the depths of the magical and psychological.”—Danielle Paige, New York Times bestselling author of Dorothy Must Die

“In Porter’s hands, even undead, skinless slivers of shadow burst to life… A wildly innovative, whip-smart, and utterly spellbinding testament to family, memory, and love—and the messes and miracles of each—poised to possess legions of readers.” —Booklist, starred review, on When I Cast Your Shadow

“Porter offers a poignant consideration of how far we will go for the people we love… An excellent selection for libraries serving teens.” —School Library Journal, starred review on When I Cast Your Shadow

“In this urban-fantasy take on the Russian folk tale ‘Vassilissa the Beautiful,’ Porter weaves folk motifs into a beautiful and gripping narrative filled with magic, hope, loss, and triumph. An enthralling, magic-tinged read about home, family, love, and belonging.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review on Vassa in the Night

“With a deft hand, lovely prose, and an eye for details, Porter reworks the Russian story of Vasilisa the Beautiful, setting it in an industrial Brooklyn where magic seeps into the mundane. There’s plenty of body horror here—Babs’ minions are the reanimated hands of corpses, she traps Night in human form, and the heads of shoplifters sit on pikes around the store—but the end result is an ethereal, almost dreamlike fairy tale that generates a magic all its own.” —Booklist, starred review on Vassa in the Night

“Evocative settings and imagery help bring this bizarre corner of Brooklyn to life. Vassa is a cynical, no-nonsense character who is quick to make jokes and take risks with the delightfully sharp-tongued Erg at her side. A deliberate lack of romantic tension makes this a refreshing read, and elements of traditional horror blend well with high-concept fantasy in this surprising and engaging tale….A must-have for YA urban fantasy collections.”—School Library Journal, starred review on Vassa in the Night