Sylvia Liu author of Hana Hsu and the Ghost Crab Nation

Hana Hsu can’t wait to be meshed.
 
If she can beat out half her classmates at Start-Up, a tech school for the city’s most talented twelve-year-olds, she’ll be meshed to the multiweb through a neural implant like her mom and sister. But the competition is fierce, and when her passion for tinkering with bots gets her mixed up with dangerous junkyard rebels, she knows her future in the program is at risk.
 
Even scarier, she starts to notice that something’s not right at Start-Up—some of her friends are getting sick, and no matter what she does, her tech never seems to work right. With an ominous warning from her grandmother about being meshed, Hana begins to wonder if getting the implant early is really a good idea.
 
Desperate to figure out what’s going on, Hana and her friends find themselves spying on one of the most powerful corporations in the country—and the answers about the mystery at Start-Up could be closer to home than Hana’s willing to accept. Will she be able to save her friends—and herself— from a conspiracy that threatens everything she knows?

Hana Hsu and the Ghost Crab Nation is a refreshing, imaginative take on a cyberpunk future, filled with wickedly cool technology and unraveling intrigue!” –Xiran Jay Zhao, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Iron Widow and Zachary Ying and the Dragon Emperor
 
“Exciting and suspenseful! Sylvia Liu’s twisty sci-fi debut will have readers rooting for Hana and turning pages until the satisfying end.” –Tae Keller, Newbery Award winner and New York Times bestselling author of When You Trap a Tiger

Event date: 
Friday, June 24, 2022 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Event address: 
109 E. Main Street
Norfolk, VA 23510-1613
Pre-Order Now Badge
Hana Hsu and the Ghost Crab Nation Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593350393
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Razorbill - June 21st, 2022

“A refreshing, imaginative take on a cyberpunk future, filled with wickedly cool technology and unraveling intrigue!” –Xiran Jay Zhao, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Iron Widow and Zachary Ying and the Dragon Emperor
 


Manatee's Best Friend Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781338662269
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Inc. - August 3rd, 2021

Perfect for fans of Catherine Hapka -- a heartwarming story about a girl who must find her voice, with lots of manatee and dolphin fun along the way!

Becca Wong Walker may be so shy that most people at school think she doesn't speak at all, but why should she care? She has more important things to worry about.


A Morning with Grandpa Cover Image
By Sylvia Liu, Christina Forshay (Illustrator)
$10.95
ISBN: 9781643794228
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-6 Days
Published: Lee & Low Books - April 21st, 2020

New Voices Award Winner, LEE & LOW BOOKS
Best Books of the Year, Honorable Mention, The Huffington Post
Choices, Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC)

In this sweet, slice-of-life story, a curious and active Asian American girl spends the day learning tai chi from her grandfather, and in turn tries to teach him how to do yoga.